top of page

I am starting a quilt!

So, since I am waiting for all of my stamping companies to head back from CHA and it's really cold and miserable outside anyway, I thought it would be nice to try my hand at my first lap quilt. I picked out some really cute winter themed fabric and ordered it offline.

It is hard to tell from the pictures above, but the fabric has cute winter animals and snow flakes. I originally though I would buy the Jelly Roll so my first quilt top could be a jelly roll race, but then my co worker suggested the I try a log cabin block. Needless to say, the log cabin block sounded appealing, because I like being at log cabins in the winter.

So there I am trying to figure out the measurements for my log cabin block. What I didn't realize was I was forgetting to account for the 1/4 inch seam allowance, so my strips were way too long each time causing me to waist fabric. But oh well...

I liked my scrappy blocks, but I didn't really want an entire quilt front of them. Plus, the blocks didn't really show off my cute animals very well. So I decided to compromise and do both part jelly roll races and line that with log cabin blocks. I have 28 blocks cut out and ready to be sewn, but I think it would be pretty cool to do 31 since there are 31 days in January, and I am hoping to eventually make this my January quilt and have other quilts for other months of the year.

So anyway, this is going to take me a lot longer than I thought it would. Well, wish me luck!


About Me

Hello there!  My name is Suzanne Pearson.  I live in Georgia with my amazing hubby Thomas and my sweet kitty Neko.  I am a teacher by day so I have to get all of my crafting in during nights, weekends, and especially summers. (hints the name)  I hope you enjoy my blog!

 

 

Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page